Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    The Eternal Optimist zimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    696
    I just downloaded Firefox. When I preview a particular page on a site of mine that has an Orbitz search box with Firefox - the search box is not there.

    When I view the page with Internet Explorer (same computer - same settings), the search box is there.

    I looked at my husband's computer and his is showing the same things. With IE it is there, Firefox it is not. We both have different anit-virus protection on our computers.

    Any thoughts?



    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    The big shots are only the little shots who keep shooting.
    -Christopher Morley

  2. #2
    ABW Adviser Panel Dynamoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Opposite the Slough of Despond
    Posts
    5,465
    There are many pages with IE-specific scripts that don't work in Firefox or Mozilla. Typically I've seen this with drop-down lists but also other things like Javascript navigation.

    I do use Mozilla almost all the time, but sometimes there are pesky sites that won't work.
    Innovative advertising with Slimeware Corporation and Telephore. Mail-order fuel with Petrol Direct.

  3. #3
    Devil's Reject Electropulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    987
    yup, the orbitz thingy is gone in firefox but shows up in IE, all other hotel/travel javascript thingies show up as far as I know.

  4. #4
    Member Speedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    165
    I’ve not noticed site differences with Firefox to IE. But there is no comparison to the security of your browser. Only used IE yesterday for the first time in a couple of days and got hit with a nasty sucker which kept changing my start page. No matter what I do can’t get rid of it and I don’t even know what it’s called!

    So my problem has been solved by itself … Don’t use IE!. Wish Microsoft had an IE uninstall feature in XP.

  5. #5
    Affiliate Manager
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    691
    Just re-created this issue...and am asking our tech folks to have a crack at it. There are other search boxes that seem to be working though, so I have no idea why only certain scripts are impacted!

    Did you guys figure anything out?

  6. #6
    Just Lurking
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,263
    I don't know if this makes a difference but FF doesn't like "\" in the URL's. This can be a real problem on a windows machine using PHP. The dirname() function is broken on windows.
    Lead, Follow or Get Out of the Way!

  7. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Featured: Webgains responds to Firefox 22 and Third Party Cookie Blocking
    By jodirieger in forum Webgains.com
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 31st, 2013, 10:24 AM
  2. Facebook blocking affiliate links?
    By PushPin in forum Merchant Best Practices Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 25th, 2012, 08:45 AM
  3. Trend Blocking CJ Links - Oh, the Irony!
    By peeved in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 22nd, 2007, 08:12 AM
  4. Ad Blocking FireFox PlugIn
    By Donuts in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 7th, 2007, 04:15 PM
  5. Norton blocking affiliate links
    By spacedog in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: December 5th, 2006, 05:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •