I am having a hard time finding the practice of buying misspelled domain names of your competitive affiliates ethical.

Affiliates band together on so many levels but it disturbs me to see that some then turn around and purchase a domain name either misspelled, or adding an S, taking away an S at the end and so on.

As an affiliate manager I have seen this a number of times and felt the frustration of those affiliates who were vicitmized.

Thank goodness domain names are so inexpensive! Also, thank goodness for Whois.net so that you can see who the culprit of frustration is.

Thank you in advance for any thoughts on this that you all may have.

-Liz
    Lizabeth Sorensen
    Affiliate Program Consultant
    lizATemerchantconsultingDOTCOM
    www.emerchantconsulting.com
    518-233-7431 EST.

More Cheesier Than Ever Cheesehead's Avatar
    This is a legal issue closely related to "Domain Squatting". If you were to buy up the domain amozon.com and put up a book site, amazon would sue your pants off! The reason: Amazon.com is probably trademark protected. The solution to your problem may be to register your site name as a trademark if the domain name itself identifies what you do.

Seek an attorney, my advice is only worth a little more than you paid.
    This World is Not My Home
    We're gonna go inside, we're gonna go outside, inside and outside. . . And then we're gonna go go go and we're not gonna stop til we get across that goalline! Quotes from the movie Rudy, 1993

Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    I don't think it's ethical and it's not something I would do.

The same thing was done to a domain name I purchased within a week of it being published by the registrar. The joke's on the guy who bought it though as I've backburnered that site for the time being. My hope is that he decides to build his copycat domain name which will ultimately benefit me.