Lightbulb Authority sites, directories, social bookmarks?
    I'm new to affiliate marketing and I'm still trying to understand SEO. I've understood its functionality and what its criteria is for giving top spots to pages. I'm reading material here and there about how to rank high. Some of these sources tell me that I should leave links of my page at:

• Authority Sites
    • Directories
    • Social Bookmarks
    • GOV sites

As far as GOV sites are concerned, my problem with them has been they don't ask for "Website" when you want to leave a comment to their posts so can I insert a text link within the comment?

Regarding the other 3, I don't even know who are being referred to in them? Can someone please throw some light on this topic and tell me what they mean?

An "Authority Site" is any site that is viewed as an authority by others. A well-organized, human-edited directory is one type of "authority site." Social bookmarks would include services like digg and "delicious." Of course, it's very hard to get links from .gov sites.

You're really looking at the wrong advice, I think. Your primary goal should always be to provide "relevant and useful" content which other web sites (that are "relevant and useful" to the same audience) will WANT to link to.

If you waste time trying to get "backlinks" in inappropriate ways (for example, by embedding URLs in comments on other web sites), you're just annoying other people and creating no real benefit for your site.

On the other hand, if you focus on "providing a useful service," and look for ways to provide service to the right audience (for example, by providing meaningful, useful responses in relevant discussion forums and by posting "relevant and useful" commments to relevant blogs, you might be more effective.

Relevant. Useful. Relevant. Useful.

Quote Originally Posted by markwelch View Post