I have yet to launch my Web site (niche content based on politics), and have a hardware question. I'm purchasing a new machine off of which to design my website, manage sponsored links placements, etc (which I've never done before), and am wondering if there are any compatibility issues w/a Mac vs. a Windows machine.

I'm leaning toward the Mac system--but what some affirmation from the community that other affiliates use the machine to run/operate their Web sites, optimize sponsored links bidding, etc.

Thanks!

Outsourced Program Manager e-Gazer's Avatar
    I'm not a programmer and I love my G4 at home... it's my baby! So pretty, so easy to use...

Still, I am willing to bet that for cost efficiency most people will tell you to go the PC route. Software and parts for Mac are a lot more expensive and a bit harder to come by although as we all know, anything can be bought online these days at the click of a mouse.

I have the best of both worlds - I use PC at work and my Mac at home... it's really a matter of preference I would think, but I'll let some of the PROFESSIONALS answer for you and see what they say.

My experience coming from a background in creative is that Mac is a lot better for designing print stuff, but for web, I personally don't see a big difference unless you are optimizing a lot of your own images - chances are you won't be since you'll be dealing with banners and possibly datafeed images.

I think you really need a response from an affiliate angle since you'll be coding sites and managing databases... my guess is still PC though for what you need it for.

Best of luck,

If you are doing graphic design go with a mac anything else go with a PC.

Macs are good but as we all know Apple had to Drop its Fastest PC claim.

If you get a PC get at least 512 MB memory or even better 1GB.

Loads of memory with a cheap processor will probably subjectively seem just as fast as a really top end expensive machine.