In your opinion does the quality of design affect the overall perception of a site and/or does good design help sales and bad design hurt sales?

I see a lot of sites on the Internet that are built to sell products or merchandise, but look as if they were designed by Helen Keller.

Being a webdesigner by trade, I personally get a very negative opinion of a website when the design is amateurish. As a result I would not shop from said site.

What has been your experience in this area?

IMHO I believe the quality of design is crucial. Combine a quality site with a strong emphisis on the marketing strategies that drive the sale and you're golden.

Bottom line... dotting those i's and crossing those t's makes the sale. Oh, and I've found that if you have a perfectionistic, anal retentive personality, like yours truely, it's make accomplishing this goal a bit easier.

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    I have noticed that over the last year or two, viewers' taste has improved and sites don't seem to need as much beating with the Ugly Stick as they did when I started. So what I'm about to say is different from what I would have said, oh, 4 years ago.

The site shouldn't be so ugly that it'd scare a NORMAL viewer (Notice! Web design types ARE NOT "normal" viewers!) away. But it shouldn't be overly beautiful either.

In my experience, if it would win a "web design" award, it won't sell beans. That's because designers do user-UNfriendly things like hiding the links by removing the underlines (or worse, that AND making them the same font and color as unlinked text so truly only a psychic can find them), or they hide the links by sticking them into dropdowns.

Designers also screw up sales sites by putting so many pretty pictures in them that the viewer is to busy looking at the photo gallery to get down to business. You want the PRODUCTS to wow the viewers, not the site design.