Question Solutions for Keyword Restrictions?
    Hi there!
    I am a newbie and really appreciate the useful comments and questions on this forum. I searched for my questions, but didn't find anything.

As I search through many merchants, I notice the keyword and TM restrictions in their rules. I get that they don't want us to compete with their business, that makes sense.

My frustration and question comes when I am thinking about doing PPC or adding a keyword to my domain that would be searched for. Example: If someone was checking out at bestbuy.com and wanted to see if there was a coupon code and they searched google for "best buy coupon codes"... I could not bid on that term or attempt to rank for it by including it in my domain. That would be a violation of their policy because of trademark, etc. ...

Do you have any suggestions on a better solution here? Seems like anyone searching for a discount code or deal would likely put the business name in the search box? I don't want to get "creative" and end up breaking rules... I always want to operate in an ethical way.

Thanks so much for your feedback!

If you are thinking of PPC then you don't need to make an effort of putting the product name on your domain since you will be paying for paid traffic. No matter what domain name you use, your site's ad will still show up as long as the user has typed in the words that your have bid on.

In terms of organic search results, very few traffic comes from domains that have the keyword in them. If you want to optimize the domain name just for the purpose of the visitor landing on your site then you can just focus on onpage and offpage optimization by setting the meta data (title, description and keywords) and building backlinks.
    Michelle
    Affilorama Group Ltd
    Affiliate Marketing by Affilorama | Free SEO Software by Traffic Travis

Quote Originally Posted by jessbeck View Post