Newbie here and I have copyright questions

On my sites I produce original content. How does the copyright process work. Is it a one and done or is this something I'd have to pay for, for each article/video/picture?

If one and done and not per-new content piece, is there an annual fee?

What is the avg cost for that? Is this something that I need a lawyer for, when there are sites that do this?

While I'm here, whats the avg. cost for trademarking two logos?

To start, you should include a copyright notice on your site (a blanket one in the footer is pretty common and will usually do the trick). The actual process of stating that your work is copyright protected is fairly easy, and usually (I'm not a lawyer, so I can't go into the exceptions) is automatic once a work of "substantial originality" is published.

Where the complicated aspects come in is trying to claim your copyright ownership should you notice external duplication.... there are bunch of factors that come into play at that point that might require a lawyer's assistance.

However, to "note" the copyright status of your work shouldn't need a lawyer... and there are no fees.

Officially trademarking does usually require a legal service, but there are a few online services that help with trademarks and business registration that you can look into to help with that.

One note, if you include the TM symbol beside your logo, it is an indication of your intention to trademark that logo, and you can do so without legally filing the logo. Once you've completed the trademark process, that is usually replaced with the little r (in a circle) that means "registered" trademark.

I hope that helps.

Please note, that I am not a lawyer and all of the above is simply my personal opinion based on my experience in this area. I'm noting this just in case I'm wrong.

...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by