Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26
  1. #1
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    Firefox 4.0 Has Issues
    Normally a new version of Firefox is pretty good, but 4.0 is not ready for prime time. Just posting this in case anyone wants to miss a little frustration.

    Firebug has a version for FF4.0 but it won't even start. Many of the add-ons don't have a compatible version.

    On start up it launches a bunch of empty windows. I have had numerous crashes in web text editors when the editor needs to launch a new window for things like adding a image.

    They will get it straightened out, but for a while I'll have to be using other browsers for some things.


  2. Thanks From:

  3. #2
    Full Member bobby131313's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 12th, 2007
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    550
    Yeah, my biggest pet peeve is now "close" closes the browser instead of the tab. I have a shortcut set on a mouse button that I've been using for years and it's really ticking me off.

  4. #3
    Certified Affiliate Manager sunshiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 12th, 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    705
    I had to take it back off my computer too. Will stick with the 3.6, its doing fine.
    Cindy Ballard, VP of Operations, Greg Hoffman Consulting
    Follow Me on Twitter @cingroomer
    My blog, www.oldfartlife.com

  5. #4
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    Quote Originally Posted by sunshiner View Post
    I had to take it back off my computer too. Will stick with the 3.6, its doing fine.
    I'm with you Cindy. Just rolled mine back. It's just not ready as this thread at mozillaZine shows.


  6. #5
    ABW Ambassador beachcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 11th, 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Posts
    723
    Thanks guys, I had heard from several folks that 4.0 was available but were having problems with it. So for now, I'll stick with my current 3.6 version.

  7. #6
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Yeah, I heard about the speed boost supposedly happening with FF 4, so I waited eagerly for it. When I first started using it a couple of days ago, it was terrific.

    Oddly enough, each day that I use it, it gets slower and slower making connections to servers and rendering pages. I have it set up to empty the cache on closing, so that shouldn't be an issue.

    For now, I think I'll go back to Chrome as my default browser and let FF 4 ripen a bit. LOL!

    Gary
    Generate more fake news.

  8. #7
    Speechless OTProf's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 4th, 2006
    Location
    Sunny SoCal
    Posts
    832
    My experience is similar to Gary -- started well enough but got worse. In my case I had several full-on freezes loading some pages and went back to 3.6 tonight.

  9. #8
    Member bestwebman06's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15th, 2011
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    101
    FF is disappointing me now a days. last week my FF 3.15 was crashed without any cause. last day it was crashed again. telling me to update but he couldn't find the update and can't run it. same thing happens constantly.
    all my book marks are gone. totally disappointed by them.

  10. #9
    ABW Ambassador 2busy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Tropical Mountaintop
    Posts
    5,636
    You can get your settings and bookmarks back. Visit Recovering important data from an old profile | How to | Firefox Help for how to do it.

  11. #10
    Affiliate/AM Moonlighter dflsports's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Posts
    874
    I was having issues downloading the latest 3.6 version and it kept crashing. I have been only using version 4 for a few hours but pages seem to be loading a lot faster than with the previous version. I use a mac as well, maybe it's more stable than the windows version?

  12. #11
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    I talked to a guy on Drupal IRC who was loving 4 on Windows 7 and Ubuntu.


  13. #12
    .
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,973
    No problems (yet) with Firefox 3.6.16 -- I'll hold off on upgrading.

  14. #13
    Affiliate Manager affilorama's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 28th, 2008
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    549
    Firefox 3.6 is working well for me. I'll upgrade to version 4 when they get it straightened out :)
    Michelle
    Affilorama Group Ltd
    Affiliate Marketing by Affilorama | Free SEO Software by Traffic Travis

  15. #14
    Full Member Lanny's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 7th, 2010
    Location
    Deep South
    Posts
    330
    @John Powell - Thank you for the "heads up" on Firefox 4.0
    This is a "dual boot" box (CentOS 5.5 Linux and M$ Windows XP) and I am using Mozilla Firefox 3.6.x on both OS. After reading this thread, on the M$ Windows side, I changed the Firefox setting, so it will ask me, before doing an upgrade. Prior to that change, the upgrades were automatic.

    I will wait, for Firefox 4.1.......

    I am an early retired Software Engineering Consultant. In general, I would suggest staying away from x.0 releases of Software. Especially if it is an OS!

    Not a good idea, to be "the first on your block"....

    There was mention of the Google Chrome web browser in this thread. I have tried it, on M$ Windows XP. My wife and daughter use it, but I have found it has very serious issues, handling Cookies. I have 2 accounts on a cPanel Shared server. If I log out of one account with Chrome, and then want to log into the other account, I am immediately logged into the first account. That could be a Security issue. An annoyance is the difficulty I have when using Chrome, trying to select text, to "Copy" and "Paste". I believe Firefox 3.6.x is far more stable and robust and that Chrome is not ready for prime time.
    Last edited by Lanny; March 28th, 2011 at 09:31 PM. Reason: Add data about Google Chrome web browser

  16. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    March 14th, 2011
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by affilorama View Post
    Firefox 3.6 is working well for me. I'll upgrade to version 4 when they get it straightened out
    I just rolled back after having tough time finding compatible addons ...

    Most of the old addons stopped working with FF 4.0 and i was feeling kinda clueless so,
    i just went ahead and rolled it back all over to version 3.6.6

    Both 3.6 and 4.0 seems kinda similar except some minor differences
    Last edited by Prodigal; March 29th, 2011 at 04:34 AM.

  17. #16
    Member bestweblover08's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2011
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by John Powell View Post
    Normally a new version of Firefox is pretty good, but 4.0 is not ready for prime time. Just posting this in case anyone wants to miss a little frustration.

    Firebug has a version for FF4.0 but it won't even start. Many of the add-ons don't have a compatible version.

    On start up it launches a bunch of empty windows. I have had numerous crashes in web text editors when the editor needs to launch a new window for things like adding a image.

    They will get it straightened out, but for a while I'll have to be using other browsers for some things.
    Same things happen to me. I've download FF 4 but at the time of installing It's noticing error. My pc remain hanging.

  18. #17
    Newbie QueenBuzzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 15th, 2005
    Location
    US/CAN depending on my mood
    Posts
    10
    I prefer FF over Safari (I'm a Mac gal) but it's always been buggy for me. A lot of times when I'm filling out forms I get the 404 error.

    Would Chrome be better for a Mac? I have absolutely no experience with it.

  19. #18
    SEO: A Specialty - Web Design: Slow or outsourced andbeyond's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 18th, 2006
    Location
    The Call is coming from Inside the House!
    Posts
    1,332
    Its working great for me on 64 Bit Win7. But ya I am missing a few addons.

  20. #19
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    Firefox Sync is nice
    Firefox 4.0.1 just came out. It's better but still no Firebug for me. I do like the Firefox Sync feature to share your Firefox bookmarks, history, tabs between devices.

    I installed the Firefox Home app for the iPhone and synced them up and was impressed.

    I'm in the IRC for #firebug and if I could make that work the rest would be bearable. If not I guess I'll roll back again.


  21. #20
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    I got some tips from Drupal folks and now have Firefox 4.0.1 working great. It's apparently an add-on conflict, but I'm not sure which one.

    To fix I just disabled them all and then slowly by 3's and 4's enabled the main ones I really want. There were some that I rarely used.

    So Firebug works and none of those extra windows opening. Really seems faster than 3.6, but may be due to dropping some dead weight in the add-on department.


  22. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 6th, 2011
    Posts
    12
    mozilla 3.6 running fine on my PC but 4.0 not running fast.......

  23. #22
    Vendor Nifty Stats's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 17th, 2008
    Posts
    68
    in FF 4.0 not working my Roboform now I use Chrome

  24. #23
    Moderator
    Join Date
    October 16th, 2007
    Location
    Neenah, WI
    Posts
    682
    It's always good to hear people aren't on IE anymore. My main site still receives 41% of it's traffic from IE(only 5% of that on IE9). As much as I'd love to build everything around HTML5/CSS3, it's just not feasible at this time - even with a forced Chrome frame.

    Firefox is a great browser, there is a ton of customizable junk for it and it's gotten pretty fast over the versions. I haven't read much about the 4.0 release, but hope they quickly work out the bugs.

    I started using Chrome a couple of years ago and can't imagine going back to anything else. It's unbelievably fast and has a pretty good selection of useful extensions and apps. A few of the extensions/apps that I use include; a photo editor that works great for manipulating manufacture photos for posting on my affiliate site, a lite HTML/FTP extension that allows me to quickly post a new page to my site from a template, and a few other productive tools that I've adapted to save myself a huge amount of time.

    I think part of the reason I've embraced Chrome so much has been my switch to Cloud Computing. One of the joys of being a self-employed affiliate marketer is that I can move my office to a park on nice days and the cloud travels with me. Chrome has become a big part of that.

    As a matter of fact, I've even gone so far as to remove my large platter drive from my computer and replaced it with two smaller(128g) sata 6.0 solid state drives in raid 0.

  25. #24
    ABW Ambassador daiarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 4th, 2011
    Location
    Beautiful Wales
    Posts
    602
    Thanks everyone for the warnings I had decided to upgrade to 4.0 later today so I will stick with what I have

  26. #25
    Moderator bibby's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 6th, 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,315
    Anyone know how to have the Symantec password toolbar appearon FF. It wasn't compatable with the lates FF upgrade.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox 6
    By daiarian in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 28th, 2011, 06:09 PM
  2. Firefox extension allows analytics to be viewed in firefox.
    By jrb16915 in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 9th, 2005, 04:09 PM
  3. Firefox
    By La_Valette in forum Google Affiliate Network - GAN
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 4th, 2005, 05:25 PM
  4. WHY? FireFox!! WHY?
    By AddHandler in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: September 30th, 2005, 08:49 AM
  5. Does GoldenCan have issues with Firefox?
    By infoTim in forum GoldenCAN
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 26th, 2005, 02:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •