The affiliate formerly known as ojmoo
    You know, Sept 2003 I quit my day job (I guess quit is too simplistic to what happened, I was a high school math teacher, long story has nothing to do with this post) and for the last I guesst 15 months now, I have been supporting myself through affiliate marketing. Anyway, after telling people (or trying to explain it) what I do, the next question from everyone is..."How do you kow the merchants are not ripping you off?" The best I can muster is, I'm pretty sure they aren't ripping me off because the software that manages the affiliate program, either through cj or commercially perchased, isn't owned by the merchant. And it seems to me that the merchants don't have the technical expertese to bypass the software. Either way, if I think I am being ripped off b/c one merchants sales are much lowers than another for similar products and traffic, I just drop the failing merchant. These things are the cost of doing an internet affiliate business. So any thoughts on this matter. What do you tell people when they ask, how do you know merchants aren't ripping you off?

Mike

P.S.
    I don't mention to people about parasites. That is way to complicated a concept to explain to people and defeats the purpose. People would probably say your getting ripped off anyway get a day job.
    Expert who says Moo

a.k.a. OJMOO

Cow Dance

I dont think there is anything you can really say...

most people just don't get the concept of having an online business and living of it's income...

I always get the deer in the headlight look when i talk about what i do...

we wont even have a discussion of what my wife thinks about this....

Joe
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    that's my2cents, 'cuz I'm a legend in my own mind....

ABW Ambassador
    "how do you know merchants aren't ripping you off?"

Test purchases.

"...the merchants don't have the technical expertese to bypass the software."