DE USA
    OK Merchants, enlighten me.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE><LI>Why do merchants include characters and try to format data by using html in the datafeed?<LI>Why are slashes, ampersands, and quotes mixed with the data?<LI> Why do some records have blank fields or just quotes?
    <LI>Why are there duplicate ProductIDs?<LI>Why are products with broken images included?[/list]

Data is supposed to be just data. The integrity of some of the feeds is just amazing. I can almost see how some affiliates have a hard time getting paid. If a merchant cannot keep a datafeed of 500 to 10000 products in shape it only seems natural that they would find it difficult to make sure the payment system works.

Please help me understand why some datafeeds are so messed up. I have been around affiliate marketing and ABW for about a year or so. I have been an IT professional more than 10 years and know for a fact that data is one of the easiest things to properly maintain. A good percentage of the feeds could be maintained using just MS Excel.

I just want to try to make some money for you and me. But sort through some of the datafeeds is making it more of hassel than it worth.

ABW Ambassador
    I have given up on so many datafeeds due to errors, poor spelling, poor grammar etc.

It amazes me that those merchants ever get any decent affiliates promoting them when they just can't be bothered to make sure that their data is accurate. Why should we promote them when they are so shoddy?

I went through one of the datafeeds doing a spell check. There were hundreds of mistakes.

Outsourced Program Manager
    Sugarloaf, CA
    Good question, Doug.

In some cases, the datafeed is compiled from data from an older accounting system or an accounting system that was setup and configured prior to the need for a web based Affiliate datafeed.