Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    February 4th, 2011
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    30
    Exclamation Arkansas affiliate nexus tax takes effect June 9
    Arkansas affiliate nexus tax takes effect June 9.

    Click here for more information.

  2. #2
    .
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,973
    Merchant should read the language of the Arkansas law (here) carefully -- particularly the language regarding sales within the "previous 12 months."

    Despite the delayed effective date (90 days from enactment), the "previous 12 months" language creates a look-back period which appears to assert a sales-tax collection duty on merchants who've sold $10,000 of merchandise to Arkansas residents since June 2010.

    Advertisers should consult with an Arkansas attorney to determine the impact of this law on advertisers who terminate their advertising relationships with Arkansas publishers before June 2011.

    Despite the deferred effective date, Arkansas publishers should definitely expect to receive "immediate termination" notices from out-of-state advertisers who don't already collect Arkansas sales tax.
    Last edited by markwelch; April 6th, 2011 at 05:23 PM.

  3. Thanks From:

  4. #3
    Online sellers beware, other than click-through nexus, don’t overlook other activities you have in AR such as having "Facilitator" who directly aids or assists you in making remote sales, including a person that operates a website marketplace through which the seller makes sales.

    Moreover, there was no statute of limitations applicable to failure to file returns. The State interprets the failure to file “return” broadly to include the collection of sales and use taxes. Given that broad interpretation, the State has the discretion to assess unreported taxes “at any time,” which means no statute of limitations applies.
    If you did file a return, then §26-18-306(a) imposes a three-year statute of limitations on assessments involving erroneous filed returns, and A.C.A. §26-18-306(e) imposes a six-year statute of limitations for assessments involving understatements of tax reported in excess of 25%).

  5. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Featured: Virginia Affiliate Tax Going Into Effect 9/1/13?
    By jamuhn in forum Affiliate Tax Laws
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 18th, 2013, 04:56 PM
  2. Featured: Affiliate Nexus Tax goes into effect 8//28/13 in MO
    By RebeccaMadiganPMA in forum Missouri Affiliate Tax
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2013, 10:38 AM
  3. Illinois Tax Revenue Declines since passage of Affiliate Nexus Tax
    By JCrooks - AffiliateWindow in forum Illinois Affiliate Tax
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 20th, 2012, 04:03 PM
  4. Vermont Affiliate Nexus Tax law – won’t go into effect for years
    By pmassociation in forum Vermont Affiliate Tax
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 7th, 2011, 12:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •