How to actually start with an affiliate network?
    Hello ABW members,

This is my first post at this forum, and as I am a newbie in this field, I prefer starting right away with a question. Time will show whether affiliate marketing is a path for me, and whether I will stay on the other side one day - giving answers rather than asking questions.

Here is my question:

How do I actually start if I want to join an affiliate network and create a website promoting some products? I cannot create a website unless I have the content (unless I know what products I am going to promote), but I cannot join an affiliate network without a website (required field during the process of registration to an affiliate network). This is kind of a circle that I am trapped in.

Anyone willing to give me a small advice?

Thank you!

Central/Western NY State
    so find a domain name that is a little general, like having to do with sports, clothing, cars, something like those. they are general enough that you can apply to a couple of networks, several merchants each, and perhaps be able to join a few programs.

domain names aren't very expensive. neither is hosting if you are careful. but start somewhere. your first domain may last or not, but you need experience building sites in order to impress merchants and networks.

There's no reason why you can't create the web site first. You probably already have a topic in mind; as Herb suggests, search for an available domain name related to that topic. Register that domain, connect it to a hosting account, and create some content.