Hello. Next month I want to get health insurance for myself for the next year. Does anybody have any recommendations. I applied for Blue Cross/Blue Shield but they denied me for some reason. I am 31 and am in pretty good health. I'm not sure why they denied me, but are there other good ones out there that I should be aware of, and ones that I should stay away from? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

While I'm not an expert I'll brain storm a little right now and throw out a few ideas that may help. One, if you recently left a job you have an option to continue coverage you had at that job for 18 months (COBRA). It's usually expensive though. Also, in some states insurance companies seem to have what's called "open enrollment" during certain times of the year where you can sign up without most of the hassles insurance companies would normally put you through.

You could also try your state health department or state insurance board (this may be difficult to find - you could always call your local state congressmen's office to have them help you figure out who to call.) to see if they can give you information on whether there are open enrollments in your state or if they can help you locate a provider.

You could also try your local chamber of commerce, or small business administration (SBA) office, maybe they have something like a group plan for small business owners.

Some years ago I bought an individual major medical policy. Had to have a physical, blood test, etc. It had a very high deductible, maybe $1000 or more. But I wasn't worried about the small stuff, just if something really expensive happened... so that could be an option as well. I found the insurance company by calling my auto insurance person. Not all that scientific I know, but it worked out OK for me at the time.
    [B]A great secret of success is to go through life as a man who never gets used up.[/B]