newbie trying to understand parasites/rebate sites
    Hi everyone, I posted this on the parasite forum, but it doesn't look like there is much action over there, so I'm hoping some seasoned pros can help out.

I am a newbie but have been researching IM and SEO for awhile and narrowed my site ideas down to two that both where travel related. I narrowed potential affiliate programs down to 6-8, but recently read more information about rebate sites (big crumbs, ebates, etc) that has me concerned.

Is it true that even if my site drives a customer to affiliate x's site that they spend time/decide to buy on, I will recieve no commission if they then close the site and go into ebates, for example, to book their travel and get a rebate? If so, I see this as a big problem because of the number of rebate sites these days and the frequency of reminder e-mails/tweets/facebook posts, etc. they send out.

Even if parasite software is no longer available to be installed, it seems like customers would make these sites a habit, especially after they cash a few checks. Just today, I recieved an e-mail from a rebate sight that had ALL of the major travel affiliate sites I was interested in using listed with rebates of 3-12%. In this economy, many people would find that attractive enough to use, especially on high cost travel purchases. I'm sure this applies to many niches...Amazon is on most of the rebates sites. For high ticket items, won't these sites take away alot of business?

Am I even understanding this correctly, and if so, is there any way around it other that avoiding merchants that partner with these rebate sites? In my case, that would eliminate all of the large "reputable" travel companies. Unless I'm missing something, it seems like this is a rapidly growing issue, yet most of the posts I find related to it are more than a few years old. Let's get some relevant information going. Thanks for any informative advice!