Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Need help figuring out a blog setup??
    OK, I've been wracking the old brain for almost 6 months trying to figure out how to set up a special sub section on my blog. It's not really complicated, although it's a bit hard to explain. So bear with me on a LOOOONNNNGG post here, please.

I've tried puzzling over this, and perhaps some of you smarter bloggers out there can help me figure it out.

One of my main "authority" sites deals with a very specific period of U.S. history -- life in the Old West. My long-term plan is to expand this site with, hopefully, thousands of posts related to people, events, adventures, real tales and tall tales, EVERYTHING anyone might want to know about the American Old West.

The domain name I have is very much an EMD for life in the Old West.

Here's my problem: I have set up a special category, "The American Story," which I want to develop systematically as a sort of U.S. history "general survey," writing about any time period, people, places, things that are fundamental to every period of U.S. history from early settlement and explorers up to the present.

I have on the sidebar (the site is WordPress) a widget titled "Recent Articles," which shows the most recent 10-12 posts. That needs to be directly related to life in the Old West -- not intermingled posts from "The American Story" category.

So here's what I'm trying to do:

1. Write general "The American Story" posts which don't show up in "Recent Articles."

2. Have a sidebar navigation link to "The American Story," which will take people to a category page and/or specific page/post titled "The American Story," on which they will find links to the posts/articles in that category only.

My biggest problems are: