& Still Fails For Me
    I was enjoying the new interface and thought I would again try link URLs with
    Code:
    & a m p ; Couldn't figure out how to show it where it wouldn't convert to "&".
    instead of &. The link is in the box marked:
    The following is based upon XHTML and works identical to the above code. This is optional for experienced webmasters building XHTML sites.
    Is it that I'm not experienced enough or is this long term problem still unfixed? The link with & a m p ; still leads to a SAS error page. I thought with all the innovation this old problem would be solved.

The amp; after & is really not for all xhtml documents, it is for certain doctypes and charsets, it could be that your doctype is giving the browsers bad instructions for your character set. I have old sites with html 4.0 using ISO-8859-1 which do require the amp; encoding. Pages will load fine without either a doctype or charset declaration so if you aren't certain that the encoding is what the page says it is you are better off to leave it out.

Quote Originally Posted by 2busy View Post
    The amp; after & is really not for all xhtml documents, it is for certain doctypes and charsets, it could be that your doctype is giving the browsers bad instructions for your character set. I have old sites with html 4.0 using ISO-8859-1 which do require the amp; encoding. Pages will load fine without either a doctype or charset declaration so if you aren't certain that the encoding is what the page says it is you are better off to leave it out.
    Try this. Open a fresh tab and put a link in the url like r.cfm?b=xxxxx&u=xxxxx&m=xxxxx&urllink=&afftrack= but with the proper SAS domain in front and your correct number where the xxxxx's are and hit Enter. Now try it with the & encoded with amp; and it will go to the error page. Looks to me like that would be independent of doctype and charset.

My page is:

Code:
    DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"