Hosting?
    Hi All,

Ok, I'm completely new to this and was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to share their opinions. What hosting sites/plans do you use when first starting off? I'm thinking of just connecting my sites to my own server, but I was wondering if it was better just to pay for one of the cheap hosting plans from a site like godaddy, etc... I know it's not much money and they offer some fairly good plans, but I just like the idea of having the control in house.

How did most people start off? I currently run a tomcat server but no absolutely nothing about network security which would be one of my concerns.

Thanks!
    Last edited by jxm262; July 6th, 2011 at 08:53 PM.

ABW Ambassador
    Godaddy for domains but not for hosting.

I have this - Web Hosting - Shared cPanel Web Hosting

Baby plan, it's fine, it works. Never had any issues to this point.

Last time there was a poll on it - ABestWeb Affiliate Marketing Forum - View Poll Results

Hey Thanks. Looks like HostGator won that poll by a landslide.

$6/month for unlimited domains is pretty cheap.

Rule #1 ... if the site isn't up you ain't making $$$

I'd suggest a cloud offering so you have flexibility for growth and strength of network.
    Continued Success,

Haiko
    The secret of success is constancy of purpose ~ Disraeli

Haha, thanks for the tip!

I don't even have the webpages created yet let alone tried to contact any affiliate programs. I'm just trying to gather information at this point and just started designing the site. Working with my gf to try and start up at least 1 site. She already writes lots of articles for other sites and i do coding (mostly cell phone apps though). I just decided it would be better if we combined our skills and tried to make our own way.

maybe hosting on a cloud network would be good, but the plans always seemed more pricey. I don't really see a major point in it unless you have enormous traffic which i don't yet.