Starting a cash back website - making a budget, what costs can I expect?
    Hello everyone -

I am new to affiliate marketing and am seriously thinking about starting a cash back website with my partner who will build the website. I am an accountant by trade so my accounting side has to see the numbers to make sure this business venture makes sense...

I pretty much have my start up costs squared away and I am trying to budget for my monthly costs; I'm sure right off the bat I will get little-to-no traffic and I want to make sure I have enough cash on hand to carry me through the expected dead times. Please review what I have budgeted so far for monthly costs and let me know if this makes sense and/ or if I missed anything:

- $50/ month for web hosting
    - $50/ month for SEO/marketing
    - $200/ month for misc costs

Am I missing anything? Additional information; I plan to get links from merchants from affiliate network sites such as CJ, Linkshare, etc.; I haven't picked a niche yet (I don't want to be like ebates and big crumbs and offer everything; I plan to focus on a target market). Also, I'm under the impression that affiliate networks track sales to [ideally] ensure I know what to expect to collect from the retailers.

Also - based on what you've observed; is the cash back website idea (ebates, big crumbs, etc.) already dead and is it even worth trying to build keeping in mind that I plan to target a particular market unlike the aforementioned competitors? I tried to research cash-back sites on this forum but didn't find anything; I apologize in advance if there are several topics already discussing what I'm querying.

Thank you very much - I appreciate you reading my post and am open to any tips and suggestions as I am BRAND SPANKIN' NEW to the industry.

Irwin

...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Hi Irwin,