Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newbie Affiliate Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,540
    ok, just talked to the web host. The server I am on is getting old and they want to move my site to a newer one. Does anyone know if this will impact search engine placing? What "Things to do" should I be looking at / telling them to do? Getting a little bit nervous now...

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador DesignerWiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    2,777
    Hi Ian,

    When we changed our servers and NS info we experienced a -2 google page rank drop the first 2 months. After that we jumped back up to original ranking.

    We didn't notice much difference in search engine traffic though.
    Ray Thomas
    Webmaster Resources: http://DesignerWiz.com
    ABW Board Category: Programming / Coding
    http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=190

  3. #3
    Affiliate Miester my2cents's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    far far away....
    Posts
    2,161
    if the move is seamless the short answer is no...

    Joe
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    that's my2cents, 'cuz I'm a legend in my own mind....

  4. #4
    Sgt. Joe Friday frank3iii's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    441
    Like Joe said. Just like switching to a new host.

    If the sys admin loads your data into the new server before the switch there *should* be no change. Either for you, the surfer, and most importantly for the SE's.

    The SE is looking for mysite.com/ or 33.193.xxx.xxx. You have the same index.html (or whatever), so SE is a happy camper.

    I believe the industry term for this type of action is 'hot swap'. The new server is 'hot' and ready before the swap.

    Frank
    "Just the facts, Ma'am." Sgt. Joe Friday, Dragnet

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    57
    Shouldn't be a big deal.

    You might have to re-check file permissions, etc... Sometimes data gets garbled during a move, so make sure you backup.

    FYI: You might want to renew your domain name while you're at it.

  6. #6
    Moderator MichaelColey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    16,232
    If you're keeping the same IP address, it should be virtually transparent.

    If you're changing IP addresses, you'll want to make sure they put the new one up first and that all your traffic transitions over there before they take the old one down. Otherwise, you will have varying lengths of downtime for different visitors.

    Another thing to keep in mind is any development platforms, programming libraries, etc. Have you installed anything special on your current machine? Even if you haven't, the new machine may have newer versions of stuff which may not be 100% backwards compatible. It's always hard to tell until you can play around with the new machine.

    What I suggest is to get the new machine set up, configured, and everything copied over. Then, change your "hosts" file on your PC to point your domain(s) to the new machine. Browse and make sure everything looks okay. If it does, you're set.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

  7. #7
    Newbie Affiliate Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,540
    Cape cod: You trying to sneak in there?

    Thanks everyone for your comments. Sounds like the "hot swap" plan is the best plan.

    Michael: I will definitely pass your info along to the system admin there when it's time.

    Thanks everyone!

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador Greg Rice's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,889
    Have them setup your new server so you can check and make sure everything works. The best way is if they configure the new server with the same IP address as your current server (they use a new IP at first so you can check everything out, when all is ok, they take it off the network, change IP(s) to the same as your current IPs), turn off the old and plug in the new and then check everything again. If they do it this way, not even the SEs should mind, or even know.

    If they need to assign new IP(s) (if so, ask them why), setup everything on the new server, check it out, then modify your DNS to point to the new server. Leave both servers running for a couple days until you see practically no traffic to the old server-then turn it off. This way, nearly everyone is serviced ok. You may take a temporary hit on the SEs with this option but you should recover easily.
    Greg Rice Affiliate Program Management
    www.gocmc.com info(AT)gocmc.com | 330-259-1223

    Join us! - MiNeeds.com | DiscountCandleShop/CheeseSupply | Feng Shui Plaza

  9. #9
    Newbie Affiliate Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,540
    Thanks for the reply Xandman. The more I re-read this entire thread, the clearer the path becomes. I will definitely make my requests!

    Thanks again everyone!

  10. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. The different CJ servers
    By Sleepless in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 24th, 2007, 03:07 PM
  2. Servers
    By butterfly in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 10th, 2004, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •