Small Apparel Merchant Starting Affilliate Help!
    I am new to affiliate marketing, but not new to the concept. I have owned many businesses over the years and I am launching a new clothing line in a week. We are doing a massive Groupon campaign and our online store will have 100's of products not all will be our brand. Our site is very rich in features and offers a direct affiliate and sub-affiliate program right from our site. I am again new to affiliate marketing so looking for pointers on commission structures for apparel, and what is important to affiliates to want to come on board with me.

Thanks

OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Have you done an analysis of similiar programs on top affiliate networks? The best thing to do is see what your competition is doing then see if your gross margin allows a more competitive offer to affiliates. If you are planning to offer an in-house then you have to have something ultra competitive and a unique product line. Plan to advertise heavily to get your program in view of affiliates.

Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Hamrick View Post
    Have you done an analysis of similiar programs on top affiliate networks? The best thing to do is see what your competition is doing then see if your gross margin allows a more competitive offer to affiliates. If you are planning to offer an in-house then you have to have something ultra competitive and a unique product line. Plan to advertise heavily to get your program in view of affiliates.

When you say to plan to advertise heavily to get your program in view of affiliates. As a newbie to affiliate marketing where do you suggest I advertise to get my program in fornt of affiliates?

Thanks

Do your research then look to the advertising here via a paid announcement. If you have experience with paid search you can use that. Affiliate program directories are not considered very effective so if you choose that path do it only if free.