Newbie really needs some advice :)
    Hi everyone,

Im very new to the world of affiliate marketing. I was previously in the banking industry and have been out of the work force for about 3 years now. I'm a mother of 2 and have been in search of "real" work from home opps. It looks like I've finally stumbled across the right path. My family and I have been through the wringer financially, to say the least, and I believe its time to take a different direction. From everything I have read so far, it seems like this business is definitely legit, honest and ethical and its something I can do from home while giving the kids the time that they need as well. I'm really excited to learn and get started.
    The problem is, I dont know where to start. I'd prefer not to create my own site just yet (although I do have a ton of ideas) and would prefer to be an affiliate marketer of products instead.
    I believe I have a talent for analyzing different markets and what consumers would want.
    I would be grateful if someone with prior success and experience could give me some guidance. Thanks again for reading this and I'm looking forward to being an active member of the forum.

Socalgirl,

Affiliate marketers usually promote the products of merchants (found on networks) on their own sites. Whether you set up a site and/or blog (or combination of the two) is your decision.
    At the very least you usually need:
    • Your own domain name
    • Hosting to host your site
    • Knowledge of HTML
    • Some experience with Illustrator or Photoshop would help
    • There are "free" programs (for art & illustrating purposes) available like the Gimp
    • The ability to program code can be important

Please read more in the Newbie Faqs and best of luck to you.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me