wordpress theme question
    Hi I am new to wordpress and blogging.

What difference is there between the different themes and the free and premuim ones that can be important?

I searched for a customizable seo friendly free theme and decited on intrepidity 1.5.1 wich said it was hihgly seo optimized and customizable.
    Still I have no clue what is, I just read what it said.

My goal is to build quality blogs that I will monetize after a while.

Also if I go with a free theme at first and then switch to a premium later, will there be any downside to that?

Take care when choosing a free WP theme and rely on recommendations.

I have used Flexibility 3 for some time and find it very good. For SEO I use a plug in by Yoast.

Best of luck

Free themes may have hidden, encrypted code, however, it doesn't automatically mean that's a bad thing. Here is an interesting post about this, but you must read through the comments to understand both sides of the issue.
    Renée
    Pay no attention to that woman behind the curtain. -Wizardress of Oz

Paying a few dollars for a theme is well worth the investment - the author gets paid for their work (which means no hidden code, as Renee mentions above!), and in most cases you will also get support for the product.

Just my two cents worth.. I haven't used a free theme for years, and Renee's link confirms those suspicions.

I had also found that page but havn't read everything. However I searched for free themes in wordpress admin area so from what I understood, thoose free themes found there were safe?

I also saw somewhere that you could get a plugin that could detect malicous code in themes, so won't that solve that part?

Why do you think premium themes are safe? They might as well put in encrypted code if it would har to detect and also charge for it?

Is there anything els that can be important when choosing a theme?

Tax Paying Member
    Quote Originally Posted by breakingtheborders View Post