Lightbulb Cloaked Pages
    Hi!
    I'm new to the affiliating world. I have three questions.

First, I have affiliated with a few places, and I'm offered a cloaked page to put into my site, so that my affiliate ID can't be stripped.
    I don't understand this at all. I don't know how to get it on my page (I use Wordpress-a template was installed for me and I've edited the template from there). I see that it has the option to download the cloaked page in html, php or java and I have downloaded them to try to figure out what they're about, but still don't "get it". I'm assuming it's the better way to go about things. I have a friend who has a very successful affiliate site (whom I've asked millions of questions to, and don't want to continually bother) and noticed his links are www.(hissite).com/to/(affiliatesite).html I'm assuming this means he's using the cloaked pages.

Can someone explain this concept with me and how to implement it, including how I'd be able to link to certain products through this method, as well?

Second question is really basic and may come off as ridiculous. I notice that with the affiliate links I have posted, when they are clicked on, it will bring me to that store, with my affiliate ID at the top of the page. When I click off of the main page to explore a product, click back to explore more and to put something in my cart, etc, I notice that the affiliate ID is gone (it's gone from the first time I leave the main page). I'm assuming it doesn't matter, and that as long as the user got to the home page via my link, anything they buy is going to be commissioned to me. Is this so? Now, say they like the product and want to go back for more in a month... how am I able to continue to make money from that customer? It's likely that they'd just go directly to the website of the online store... This is what I find might be a setback, since I'm not affiliating with services or anything like that.