Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 22nd, 2007
    Location
    West Covina, CA
    Posts
    8,443
    Unhappy WordPress sites down for maintenance?
    I've never seen this before.

    (I've only been using WP for a few months.)

    How often does it happen?
    Since June 10, 2012 a vegan aarf but still writing the Hound Dawg Sports Blog
    "If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?" -John Wooden;
    "Raj, there’s no place for truth on the internet." -Howard Wolowitz[/SIZE]

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Don't see a link to what wordpress site you're talking about here?

    I just went to wordpress.org and it seemed to be up and running. I've never known it to be down for maintenance, if that's the site you're talking about.

    I see you posted very early in the A.M. Perhaps they were down overnight and are now back up again. But, yes, wordpress.org being down for maintenance would be very rare.

    Gary
    Generate more fake news.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador CCBerries's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 5th, 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    707
    I saw it on my site a few days ago after an upgrade to the latest version, the upgrade script didn't clean out the ".maintenance" file and it needed to be manually deleted.

    the .maintenance file acts like a flag that prevents access during upgrades, if it out there you get a very simple page saying the site is down for maintenance. Sounds like they were upgrading their sites and ran into the same problem with the file not getting deleted.

  4. #4
    Analytics Dude Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    5,904
    Quote Originally Posted by CCBerries View Post
    I saw it on my site a few days ago after an upgrade to the latest version, the upgrade script didn't clean out the ".maintenance" file and it needed to be manually deleted.

    the .maintenance file acts like a flag that prevents access during upgrades, if it out there you get a very simple page saying the site is down for maintenance. Sounds like they were upgrading their sites and ran into the same problem with the file not getting deleted.
    Bingo. If your self hosted site is doing this, go to your ftp client, make sure you can view hidden files, and simply delete .maintenance
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

    Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador writerguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17th, 2005
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    3,248
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
    Bingo. If your self hosted site is doing this, go to your ftp client, make sure you can view hidden files, and simply delete .maintenance
    Oh. OK, I misunderstood your OP, hounddawg. I thought you were talking about the wordpress.org site or something -- not about your self-hosted WP sites. If that's what you were seeing then, yeah, Kevin's got the answer that should solve the problem. I actually have had that happen once when I was upgrading a site.

    Gary
    Generate more fake news.

  6. #6
    Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 22nd, 2007
    Location
    West Covina, CA
    Posts
    8,443
    Sorry for not being clear on this - it was my sites that were down.

    That started just after midnight PST and it was still like that when I got to sleep around 2 am PST.

    Sites are back up this morning.

    However, i did no updates before this happened.

    Thanks everyone.

    p.s. Has everyone upgraded to 3.3? Any problems?
    Since June 10, 2012 a vegan aarf but still writing the Hound Dawg Sports Blog
    "If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?" -John Wooden;
    "Raj, there’s no place for truth on the internet." -Howard Wolowitz[/SIZE]

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    November 21st, 2010
    Posts
    230
    been fine with 3.3. had a problem with one plugin which I was able to patch but has since been officially updated anyway

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador CCBerries's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 5th, 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    707
    the only problems I had was the . maintenance one, the window that was upgrading WP jumped to the "under maintenance" screen so i didn't get to see if it was a clean install.. so I just re-installed after deleting that file.

    it's also possible you have a plug-in that's set to automatically update.. that could leave a file out there.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador daiarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 4th, 2011
    Location
    Beautiful Wales
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
    Bingo. If your self hosted site is doing this, go to your ftp client, make sure you can view hidden files, and simply delete .maintenance
    My WP site is hosted by Hostgator, is this what you refer to as "self hosted"? If so where do I find the ftp client?

    Thanks

  10. #10
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by daiarian View Post
    My WP site is hosted by Hostgator, is this what you refer to as "self hosted"?
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by daiarian View Post
    where do I find the ftp client?
    FTP = File Transfer Protocol.
    File Transfer Protocol - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    FTP Client is a program you use to transfer files from your computer to your website. Such as FileZilla.
    FileZilla - The free FTP solution

    It will not be part of your hosting control panel.
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  11. #11
    Full Member
    Join Date
    November 21st, 2010
    Posts
    230
    but cpanel should have a file explorer option

  12. #12
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by bradk View Post
    but cpanel should have a file explorer option
    Yes, it's now called "Legacy File Manager"...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  13. #13
    ABW Ambassador CCBerries's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 5th, 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    707
    on Knownhost I have both File Manager and Legacy File Manager.. so it depends on what flavor of CPanel you are on. (I've seen some that are really stripped out)

    The original source for the fix was FAQ Troubleshooting « WordPress Codex

  14. Thanks From:

  15. #14
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by CCBerries View Post
    I have both File Manager and Legacy File Manager
    Yes, you are correct. cPanel x3 theme actually has both. I got used to the old file manager long ago so when I do use file manager I tend to use the "legacy" version.

    Thanks for reminding me!
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  16. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    March 8th, 2012
    Posts
    9
    My wordpress site was never down. I wonder what happened to yours. Just report it if you always experience downtime..

  17. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Multi-national sites in Wordpress
    By carpooler in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 9th, 2013, 12:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •