My name is Aaron Graham, I graduated last year and am now undertaking research as a postgraduate in Information security and would love to further develop affiliate marketing fraud as my main focus. Obviously artificial threats such as proxy bots and cheat scripts have implications for anyone wanting to start an affiliate commission system, this coupled with the inherent vulnerabilities that exist with any web based marketing system i.e. manipulated traffic. Myself and some other members of the Information security group (assisting me) would be interested in collating and diagnosing the affiliate marketing fraud problem through collecting information on the percieved vulnerabilities in the technology and implementation. I would be very interesting in developing some solutions to the problem, such as figuratively fingerprinting clickers to gain a stronger sense of uniqeness or perhaps designing a customer quality algorithm. If any of you have any guidance, connections, previous prevention mechanisms, scripts etc. it would be very helpful.Until now I have found it difficult to find technologically descriptive material, which is unfortunate for a potentially big Information security issue. Any feedback would be great.

2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    St Clair Shores MI.
    I would imagine the forums at the third world affiliate networks would be a good source for info on click cheats. No reputable network wants anything to do with policing the script kiddies who flourished in the late 90's. Do some searches on the script sites and try the P2P thievery networks like Morpheus -Kazaa -Grockster as those users will sell CyberCrime scripts if you wire the money to Pakiland -Siberia or the Balkins.

Better project would be diversion tactics widely used within the affiliate merchant ranks. Take Dell on as an example, since they are the kings at it.