Newbie.....will this work.
    I've been on the customer end of a cash back website for a long time. Mrreabtes has been good too me until eBay dropped the cash back thing. I was making a killing just on the cash back.
    Anyway here's my question

Can I participate in affiliate marketing without having my own website driving traffic. For example I pay for an ad on a website that has my affiliate code imbedded and wallah collect the dollars.

I have specifics in mind but I guess my question is will the affiliate programs accept me without having a domain to show them or should I just set up one and proceed with the above idea.

These will be targeted ads to a captive audience that I know will want to purchase the products that's are offered.

Does this idea work, is it called something else?

I'm a total newbie on affiliate marketing but a serial entrepreneur and money lover.

In this day & age, I don't think many merchants will accept an affiliate without their own domain.. and in many cases, commission is only earned on links that originate from your own website.

Having said that, I believe it varies across merchants - the above is specific to merchants I deal with, but there are affiliates out there who know exactly which merchants allow PPC (which is what you're talking about - ie, advertising your affiliate link on another site, usually via Google AdWords). You would have to familiarize yourself with bidding policies for each & every merchant - finding yourself on the wrong side of that usually means being kicked out of a network.

In my opinion, if you're a serial entrepreneur, you would be better off creating your own site - where you get to control the traffic, and also have the opportunity to work with a greater number of merchants.

And welcome to ABW!

Awesome I got a response. Thank you.

Say I frequent a certain meassage board/forum. I have noticed that there prices for advertising are relatively cheap given the number of visitors they get.