Please Take 5 minutes to Critique This Business Model

Hello! I am very new to this, so please excuse me if I get things glaringly wrong. I was hoping you guys could take a second to critique this model, and help me get my head around the the “three dimensionality” of internet commerce.

I have niche content that I’ve written. It is very simple, valuable information that will save people tremendous amounts of time, money, and energy. I was in the specific situation of the people who I see being my customers just 5 years ago, and I was very frustrated because I had trouble finding the information I needed on the web, and wished somebody would just cut to the chase already and give me some answers. My information that I wanted, and would have been happy to pay for, but had to learn through experience.

So, I have about 5,000 words currently, in more or less publishable form, and I am intending to monetize it in the following three, interconnected ways.

A frequently updated blog which will be funny, irreverent, and entertaining to the target customer, making them return to the site to read new posts, or stay on the site to read old posts. I will launch with a “sexy” version of the current content I have now, releasing it over the course of several weeks. I will pull out all stops to push traffic to the blog using SEO and other techniques. I will begin to assemble a mailing list. This blog will strongly advocate the purchase of specific products which are widely available on Amazon and eBay, using affiliate links, as well as affiliate links to the best selling and most appropriate lifestyle products associated with the niche. This content will expand and grow over the first two months of the blog, become more serious and technical, and eventually coalesce into an Ebook, at around 40,000 words.