Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    http://%22
    This has been bugging me for a week now. Couldn't figure out what's wrong.

    I have a few shortcut links to various login accounts on my desktop, some of them are https://xxxx.com. They were working fine for years until last week, when I click on the https:// link, it automatically add a http://%22 in front of the URL. The link brought up will look like this and get a "page not found" message:

    http://%22https//xxxx.com

    So I deleted the old shortcut and created a new one from the orginal source. It still adds http://%22 in front when I click on the link.

    The weird thing is, I checked the shortcut property, the URL is correct. I can copy and paste the url from there and open it without problems.

    Never seen this before. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 5th, 2005
    Location
    Park City Utah
    Posts
    16,646
    What's your browser and what's your ISP? I tried your link and didn't get it.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Hamrick View Post
    What's your browser and what's your ISP? I tried your link and didn't get it.
    The link I posted is an example. It is not a real link(sorry I should add some space in between, please edit it if you ccould).
    I'm using IE8.

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador Georgie Peri's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    846
    Hi - I'm not sure if I have seen things sort of a thing before!

    With IE 8 have you tried dragging the Icon that is in the search box area to create a new shortcut link to your desktop?

    Also have you tried to save the URL to the favorites bar / section and if so does it do the same thing?
    OpA! Giasou Ti kanies!

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Georgie Peri View Post
    With IE 8 have you tried dragging the Icon that is in the search box area to create a new shortcut link to your desktop?
    No, I send shortcut to my desktop directly from the page

    Also have you tried to save the URL to the favorites bar / section and if so does it do the same thing?
    I saved the URL to the favorite bar, no problem open the URL from there.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador Georgie Peri's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    846
    Does it work if you then Dragged the Shortcut from the Favorites Bar onto your Desktop?
    OpA! Giasou Ti kanies!

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Will try...

    No, it doesn't work. I dragged the link from favorite bar to my desktop, and clicked on it. It added the http://%20 in front again.

    Thanks for trying to help...I think I will give up and open the link from favorite bar from now on.

    It's just weird.
    Last edited by mayfly; January 28th, 2012 at 01:24 AM.

  8. #8
    ABW Ambassador Georgie Peri's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    846
    Got a feeling maybe this is some sort of malware? You said it only just started to happen ... have you tried running some malware software to see if maybe there is something trying to hijack links?


    Another thing do you have a HTTP Debugger program like Fiddler.

    Link if you dont have it:
    Fiddler Web Debugger - A free web debugging tool

    Start up Fiddler program, then run one of the Desktop Shortcuts and see if you notice anything poping up in Fiddlers monitoring section.
    OpA! Giasou Ti kanies!

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Georgie Peri View Post
    Got a feeling maybe this is some sort of malware? You said it only just started to happen ... have you tried running some malware software to see if maybe there is something trying to hijack links?
    I have Norton AntiVirus software installed on my computer. Any good malware software to recommend?

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgie Peri View Post
    Another thing do you have a HTTP Debugger program like Fiddler.

    Link if you dont have it:
    Fiddler Web Debugger - A free web debugging tool

    Start up Fiddler program, then run one of the Desktop Shortcuts and see if you notice anything poping up in Fiddlers monitoring section.
    I downloaded the Fiddler and run the problem shortcut. Got this message:
    [Fiddler] DNS Lookup for "%252522https" failed. No such host is known

    and this from Fiddlers monitoring section:
    Fiddler has detected a protocol violation in session #79.
    Request's Host header does not match Host specified in URI.
    URL Host: %22https
    Header Host: %252522https

    Not sure what to look for, I think Fiddler tool is a little bit too complicated for me to understand

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    April 6th, 2006
    Posts
    2,689
    For Malware, this is an exceptional piece of software:

    Malwarebytes : Malwarebytes Anti-Malware PRO removes malware including viruses, spyware, worms and trojans, plus it protects your computer

    It has detected worms & trojans that were missed by all the major apps!

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 4th, 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,477
    I downloaded the malwarebytes and ran a quick scan, no malicious items found.

    I think I will have to just walk away from this and open the link from the favorite bar.

    Thank you all for your help.

  12. #12
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    88
    I think you forgot a semi-colon after s.

    NOT
    Code:
     http://%22https//something.com
    This is correct.
    Code:
       https://something.com
    Edit: Sorry, I did not notice that you are able to copy and paste the URL correctly.
    Not sure about this.
    Last edited by vivekar; February 5th, 2012 at 11:10 PM.

  13. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. http header says: HTTP/1.1 302 Object moved
    By Roland in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 25th, 2005, 09:11 AM
  2. http://www or http://
    By Cheesehead in forum Voting Booth
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 13th, 2005, 08:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •