Smile Best Methods?
    Hello everyone!

I am a newbie in the affiliate marketing world, so I have a few questions.

As far as the most effective approach, are you better off creating a lens on Squidoo (or somewhere else?) about a product or a full web site just around that product. Say I want to try to sell Kindles (may be too far fetched, but this is just an example.. hmm, actually, is that too popular of a product to have any success?), would it be better to create a lens about the Kindle or a full website about "book reviews" or something similar to sell the product?

How many URLs do you own?
    How many products do you focus on?
    Do you work across multiple niches?
    What are your "must do" actions when creating a new website for a product?

I am a marketing manager in my day job, focusing largely on performing SEO, email marketing, social media, etc.. I love my job, but I find affiliate marketing so fascinating that I would love to see if I could have any success with it. I have a background in web design, although my skills could be polished quite a bit. That being said, what is the best advice you can give someone new just getting into things? Judging from my questions above, do I seem like I have any sort of understanding of this industry or am I way off?

Thanks so much for your time!

OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    A lens on Squidoo is a good place to start to understand how to create a page. In the long run it won't get you much if any traffic unless you are micro niche. You need to understand how to make a page, join an affiliate network, join merchant programs then create affiliate links on your page. You also need to learn basic SEO to get that page ranked.

I'd say your best bet is to build your own site, and use the third-party platforms such as squidoo, social networks, etc, as bridges to your own site rather than direct-to-merchant-site. This way you have your own ground to stand on when the tides of the internet ebb and flow.