New and still wet behind the ears
    Hello,
    I am a newbie, two weeks to be exact. In those two weeks I have been reading, researching, and working on the foundation of creating a new business. I would like to be an affiliate and have a website. I started a blog, using a blogspot.com, and now I am confused. Help would be greatly appreciated.
    Do I need to move my blog to a domain website that I need to purchase?

I have also read in one of these forums that I should not purchase a web domain from the person I intend to host the site. Is this correct?

What should I look for when I am looking for a good host?

Can I advertise on my blog?

I understand that I need to build around my blog, which I am currently also working on. I just feel I need a starting point.

I am focusing on something that I love and have an interest. I do plan on building other websites on things that I have searched the internet for, only to find information websites that are just crap. Well…that just bugs me . Time spent searching the internet, only to find information thrown in there, unorganized, and offers zero help.

...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Time to get your feet 'wet', too

There are several threads here about hosting. You can find good, reliable, inexpensive hosting for under $10/month.

Buy your domain name from a company other than the hosting company. Don't be enticed by a free domain with purchase of hosting.

Blogs are how many affiliates get their start. With your own domain and hosting you can advertise on your blog.

Writing / promoting about something you love is a plus. Just make sure your love can be be monetized. Your first site will probably go through many, many revisions before you get a good feel for the industry.

You have to jump in all the way - get your feet wet, too...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

3. Thanks From:

Hi littlered,

What a great newbie post! If you would like to have affiliate advertising on