Looking for some guidance
    Hey guys and gals, I am new to this website and completely new to the world of affiliate marketing. I have a simple question that I hope you all can help me with or at least send me in the right direction.

Okay, so I am currently interning for a company in Barcelona that allows people to rent apartments around the city for vacations and holidays. My boss has asked me to get the company into the affiliate marketing business. As a lowly college student, I have never done something like this before. Basically, he wants me to have other websites redirect to our website and then pay them if that person ends up booking an apartment.

For example, let's say another website has a picture of one of our company's apartment. The customer sees that picture and says, "Oh that looks nice, Let me click that." Once clicked, it redirects them to our website where they have the chance to book that apartment. If they do book, we pay the original website a commission for providing us with service...

So my real qestion is how do I do this? How do I get redirect links to our website on other sites, and then how do I track it all? I am really confused and would really appreciate any help. If this isn't the right section to be posting this, point me in the right direction.

Cheers!

You need 2 things. (probably more, but this is a start)

1. A technical solution to track affiliates, referrals, and payments.
    2. Advertising for your affiliate program

The first one can be run in house, if you have a technical team to build the links and the software and the tracking, but many companies join a Network... The network takes care of all that. Advertising you have to do - this gets word out about your program, making affiliates aware of your program, and recruiting them to promote your program.