Grandma broke her coccyx! Uncle Rico's Avatar
    Question Wordpress or Homegrown?
    I haven't created a new site in a couple of years now. I suspect things have changed in that time, if nothing more than with how google treats affiliate websites.

I am looking to start a new site with the idea of long term monetizing of at most 4 products and I wonder if WP is still a good option as it was 2 years ago. I don't mind creating a site from scratch IF homegrown is better than just loading up a standard WP theme.

I'm a newbie, so my opinion may not be 100% correct. I would say homegrown is best. I like the freedom of being able to design/change/tweak my own site, but it might be that this is the case with WP. I do, however, love some of the WP plugins!

The main reason I don't use WP, is because I have always been lead to believe that WP does not alllow affiliate marketing.

Quote Originally Posted by Angel64 View Post
    The main reason I don't use WP, is because I have always been lead to believe that WP does not alllow affiliate marketing.
    You can use WP for affiliate marketing if you put the wordpress on your own domain w/ your own hosting.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

@Uncle Rico some people like homegrown because homegrown isn't as easy to hack.

You can check out an interesting statement by teezone here:
    http://www.abestweb.com/forums/1096268-post2.html

You could use a mix: use a "homegrown" for a catalog of products and WP for a blog that highlights your products
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

Right now I am leaning towards homegrown. Even though Wordpress is super quick, I actually get some enjoyment on building a site. The main area I struggle is with the logo.

Affiliate Manager AffiliateWarrior's Avatar