Please Help: Struggling with Commission Structure for my Affiliate Program
    Hello,

We are releasing a new site soon that has been in the works for over a year now. It's in late stage Alpha with the beta soon to be ready for release. For the past three weeks I have been reading and learning as much as I can about how to build and manage an affiliate program.

Beyond lots of helpful blogs and internet articles, I've also read through Affiliate Program Management Hour Day which was quite helpful to gain the basics. I'm far from an expert but I feel comfortable now with the general logistics and scaling this program up.

I am the business owner and at this stage I plan to run the affiliate program myself (in the future maybe hiring an AM). I believe that affiliates will play a big part in the growth and profitability of our company. Consequently I want to make our program awesome and one that stands out from everyone else.

Where I am struggling, and where I was hoping to get some guidance is around commission structuring. For our core product, we will be brokering items for buyers and sellers. When an item sells, our company will receive 15% from the sold price. These are high ticket items (~$2000 up to $xxx,xxx) so commissions on a sale can be quite substantial. We also will have an upgraded account that costs lets say $50 per month.

What I was thinking to offer our affiliates was 2 different types of commission tracking:

1. Historical. When an affiliate refers a new client, that client becomes theirs for ___ months. I was thinking between 6 to 12 months. Whenever this client buys or sells anything (be it core or surround IP), the affiliate will receive a commission. This is especially important to me now as we are just releasing the site and I need inventory and buyers.

2. Current (cookie). The most recent referral from an affiliate will also get paid a commission.