Affiliate Manager AffiliateWarrior's Avatar
    How NOT to Respond to a Declined Application
    Here's an email I received from an affiliate who's application my team declined:

"It's your company loss. I'm a professional advertiser, that's investing into a Advertising Franchise/as a additional to my Website. You turn down my offer to advertise your company for free? Your missing out!"

If you apply for an affiliate program and you get declined, there are a few things you should do.

1. Check your network profile and make sure it was complete, make sure that all sites listed in the profile that relate to that program are live and contain some live content. Make sure that the marketing methods you use are disclosed properly.
    2. Check the merchant terms and make sure they don't prohibit marketing methods that you highlighted in your profile/application.
    3. Take a moment to write a friendly email to the affiliate manager that goes something like this:

___

Hi (Affiliate Manager), my name is (your name) and I recently applied to your affiliate program and was declined. I am really excited to work with your program and I think I can do a great job for you. Here's what I have in mind for promoting your site: (list how you'll promote the site)

Could you please reconsider your decision? If you still don't think we're a good fit, could you please let me know what the issues are so that I can take action to correct them?

Thanks for your time,

Your Name
    Your Contact info

___

Taking this approach will get you way better results. I will say that most of the time when I get an email like this from an affiliate, I'll find a way to work with them unless my company just doesn't allow their marketing methods. The guy that wrote the first email will never be approved.
    Wade Tonkin - Affiliate Manager - Fanatics
    NFLShop.com|Shop.NHL.com|NBAStore.com|Store.NASCAR.com
    Email wtonkin // at // Fanatics.com