Can an affiliate modify product images?
    Hi All,

I'm a software developer looking at building an affiliate site to showcase clothing and accessories. Think shopstyle.com. However, as part of my site I want to do some image processing on the product images. For example, suppose I modified the original images to change the background behind the product, in a way that improves the experience of the shopper.

Can anyone please advise me, is this likely to get my site kicked out of affiliate programs for violating the typical terms of the affiliate agreement? What would be the chances of getting served with copyright infringment notices, kicked out of google results, or any other legal nasties? Assume that the image processing is done professionally in a way that benefits the shopper.

Thanks in advanced for any comments,
    Pete80

I've made alterations to banners on rare occasion, but requested through the AM beforehand, sent a version & received an approval in writing (email) before I posted it. I've done this with a small niche & one major merchant. Later on, the major merchant had their creative dept. create a banner that was themed similar to mine which I then used.

Always get a written approval from the merchant, especially fashion photos...there are copyrights which may not allow manipulation of the images unless you pay a hefty fee. Don't play fast and loose with this! Ask permission, send a couple of samples & wait for a response.

And don't overthink it! You'll be more than surprised to see what people like & buy. Just my 2 cents...this is not the wheel you want to reinvent.

Best to you!
    Renée
    Pay no attention to that woman behind the curtain. -Wizardress of Oz

3. Thanks From:

ABW Ambassador
    You can ask the AM for modifications to a banner. If there is value to the modification you are asking for, then they may make the new banner available to all the affiliates also.

...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar