Just starting off
    Hi, I was just wondering... Would I be better off to create my own website to post my affiliate links on, or are sites like Blogger.com and Wordpress alirght? I am a Vet tech and a personal trainer so I was going to write weekly about different topics in those areas. Also, I am not sure how to incorperate affiliate links with this one, but I think it may help people cope.... In July my son was born 16 weeks early. He was in the hospital 91 days, it was 3 weeks before I could hold him for the first time. Some ideas on how to make this as successful as possible would be great. I am considering getting my own website, but I am not sure if this is the right path to start marketing. Thank you for your time.

Yep, get your own website. Never rely on free things you'll never know what will happen tomorrow. For instance, at the moment people are complaining about getting blocked on Facebook because of sharing too much links. But with your own website you do whatever you want, whenever.

Use these other free stuff for traffic and backlinks as you'll never know what will happen tomorrow.

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar
    Definitely get your own URL, don't count on Wordpress.com or Blogger.com to permit you to do whatever you want. Plus, you can spend a lot of time trying to optimize, only to optimize their sites instead of yours. Fortunately domains and hosting can be quite reasonable.

There are several groups of Mommy bloggers who share their personal experiences, and many other families find this helpful, supportive and inspirational. Sharing yours would be great to help others going through what you just did. I like BloggyMoms.com to see what everyone is doing.