Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    How To Post A Product On Blog? Total Newb Question
    Hi,

Ok. I need someone to tell me if I'm doing this right before I go any further.

I'm starting a new site, my first affiliate site. I'm starting to write posts and I'm including pictures of the shirts in each post. I'm selling t-shirts.

This is what I've been doing. Saved them as drafts, haven't officially posted them yet.

1) I go to a merchant site, say Busted Tees, and find a shirt I like.
    2) I download the image to my desktop so I can rename it and resize if necessary.
    3) I copy the product page URL
    4) I go to the Affiliate Network (say SAS), then the merchant, then I create a custom link.
    5) I upload the image to a new post and link to merchant product page.
    6) I write around the image, maybe include a text link to product page and at the end include a button linked to the Product Page on the merchant's site.

Am I doing this correctly?
    Can I use bit.ly or some other url shortner and should I use that shortened url for all links?
    Is there a WordPress plugin I should be using?

I guess I thought when I began that the merchant's products would be displayed on the Affiliate Network. Not seeing that. But, I'm ok doing it this way if that's the correct way of doing things.

Can anyone offer advice? Thanks

I never go to the merchant's site for product links.
    Each network has a method for distributing the product urls.
    I go to the network and copy the product links they make available
    to me. I make minor changes on the fly (usually a change in size).
    I usually write content/copy and copy & paste the merchant product
    links simultaneously.

SAS: main page
    ===> Top navigation
    ====>Go to Links Get a link/banner or View merchants with datafeeds
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^That's where you find the individual product links to use
    If you want a shortener you can go to get a custom link