Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    Setting up Analytics across multiple domains
    I was wondering if anybody knew anything about setting up Analytics across multiple domains.

    The thing is, I have a promo site which is a Wordpress blog and when people are ready to buy the item, they are sent to my shipping cart which is hosted on a different server. The problem is, Analytics is showing the movement as a bounce, when they are still an active customer who may buy.

    How can you combine two analytics account into one or make it so it treats them as 1 site? Can it be done? Is it complicated?

    Somebody told me to have them all share the same Google Analytic ID# but that is not doing anything.

  2. #2
    Marketing Manager
    Join Date
    January 24th, 2013
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    130
    It is complicated but Google has instructions for it. Just Google [Google Analytics tracking multiple domains] and you'll find the instructions.

  3. #3
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Drop GA and go with an in-house solution...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  4. #4
    Marketing Manager
    Join Date
    January 24th, 2013
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    130
    Are you suggesting they build their own analytics software?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Join Date
    April 6th, 2006
    Posts
    2,689
    The original issue could be handled quite nicely in Statcounter..

    Apart from my aversion to G these days, their Analytics are far too complicated..

  6. #6
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by Nathan Grimm View Post
    Are you suggesting they build their own analytics software?
    Open Web Analytics
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  7. #7
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Convergence View Post
    Drop GA and go with an in-house solution...
    Thank you for the suggestion. I never considered a better option since I always looked at GA as the industry standard.

    Will this software still work with other Google things like Adwords and my ad campaigns?

  8. #8
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by lehmannresearch View Post
    Will this software still work with other Google things like Adwords and my ad campaigns?
    Take a look at their comparison page:

    Comparison Open Web Analytics
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  9. #9
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Convergence View Post
    Take a look at their comparison page:

    Comparison Open Web Analytics
    I looks great!

    I tried to install it but kept getting this error message of: "The magic_quotes_gpc PHP INI directive must be set to 'OFF' in order for OWA domstreams to operate correctly"

    The forums for OWA, left the issue up in the air. Somebody suggested editing the htaacess file or php.ini file and neither did a thing.

    I'm trying PiWik for now.

  10. #10
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by lehmannresearch View Post
    I tried to install it but kept getting this error message of: "The magic_quotes_gpc PHP INI directive must be set to 'OFF' in order for OWA domstreams to operate correctly"
    On a dedicated server it's easy with WHM - If not, contact your data center...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  11. #11
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Convergence View Post
    On a dedicated server it's easy with WHM - If not, contact your data center...
    At the moment, I'm not on a dedicated server but I wrote my hosting company just now.

    Thanks.

  12. Thanks From:

  13. #12
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    They'll probably give you a php.ini file (they should just go ahead and do it)...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  14. #13
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    I finally got it installed last night. I been messing with it today, trying to figure it out. On the surface it looks a lot like GA.

    Still trying to figure out how to track the multiple sites like I do. I left a message on one of the forums.

    Thanks for the suggestions.

  15. #14
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Have you considered using the same site code on the shopping cart?

    You can also track the outbound click...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  16. #15
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Convergence View Post
    Have you considered using the same site code on the shopping cart?

    You can also track the outbound click...
    Wouldn't it show all traffic as one lump of traffic? I mean, they all share the tracking code, so if 200 people went to my site and 300 to the store, it would show that I've had 500 visitors. How would I separate them?

    I mean, what I want is to be able to track somebody from the promo site to the shopping cart site to the "thank you for your order" page on the shopping cart site.

  17. #16
    ...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 24th, 2005
    Posts
    6,918
    Quote Originally Posted by lehmannresearch View Post
    Wouldn't it show all traffic as one lump of traffic? I mean, they all share the tracking code, so if 200 people went to my site and 300 to the store, it would show that I've had 500 visitors. How would I separate them?

    I mean, what I want is to be able to track somebody from the promo site to the shopping cart site to the "thank you for your order" page on the shopping cart site.
    I take it you have MORE than TWO sites that feed into a common shopping cart?

    Thinking you have to setup conversion funnels. Keep in mind, as an affiliate, we use it a tad differently. Anyhoo, back to you...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

  18. #17
    Affiliate Manager lehmannresearch's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 15th, 2013
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Convergence View Post
    I take it you have MORE than TWO sites that feed into a common shopping cart?

    Thinking you have to setup conversion funnels. Keep in mind, as an affiliate, we use it a tad differently. Anyhoo, back to you...
    I do have more than one site. I have a promo site (ie: aboutmyproduct.com) which contains links to product pages on my shopping cart (ie: a banner on aboutmyproduct.com for "product #1" sends people to myshop.com/product1, where they can purchase it). I have a goal on myshop.com at the "thank you for your order page" (ie: myshop.com/thank-you-for-buying.html). I want to know when people go from the promos site to buy.

    I think I did this right. I setup a goal with myshop.com that completes at the thank you for ordering page. I then copied and pasted the same tracking code for both sites but under the domain aliases, listed the other site.

  19. Newsletter Signup

Closed Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Setting up Google Adsense for Domains Question
    By birja in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 27th, 2009, 06:10 PM
  2. Anybody understand setting up Adsense for Domains??
    By writerguy in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2009, 04:09 PM
  3. Multiple Google Analytics codes - work?
    By matt j in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 28th, 2007, 09:29 PM
  4. Multiple Domains
    By hotspice in forum Domains & Hosting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2004, 09:57 AM
  5. Multiple domains.......
    By Moose22 in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 9th, 2003, 04:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •