Deals site and Amazon don't mix?
    I'm a newb so help me out please.
    Let me begin the question by adding a bit of a context. (sorry for the length. I tried.)

I have a new web service that allows users to collect products of interest from the web (like Pinterest) and combines the products of interest with sales/deals/coupons from the same seller, although not necessarily for that exact item of interest. For example, John may like a pair of shoes from Zappos, so he scraps it. He would then be asked if he would like to receive notice of future sales/deals from Zappos. He gets the alerts if he agrees.

I guess that would put my service under "coupons and deals site". However, I do want to make a distinction because my service creates contents. Users curate their interests and they add thoughts/comments on the product they like. Some short, some longer. And the service promotes viral, organic likes. At the end of the day, new customers will be brought to the merchants.

After reading through the ABW thoroughly, it seems as though 'coupon and deals sites' are heavily scrutinized by merchants. Something of an evil necessity? (please correct me if I am wrong) Also, the way coupon sites hijack referrals creates discontent from other affiliates.

So the long awaited question:
    What is the best way to position my service to Amazon (and other merchants) for me to gain their approval and access to their product/sales/deals datafeed? Seems like the moment I click "coupon and deals site" for my service category, Amazon would put my site on the blacklist. Or am I misreading something?

...and a Pirate's heart. Convergence's Avatar
    You need to read each and every merchant's terms. If you have any questions regarding their terms, contact the merchant and explain your marketing plan...
    Salty kisses, Sandy toes, and a Pirate's heart...

3. Thanks From: