Shooting the breeze
    So I like the forum, everything seems really cool and the people seem very informative judging by the posts and threads I have been reading.

So here is my conversation piece......

My friend is an I.T. guy at the college we work at, and he was amazed at my domain name. I was happy I got it, but he was literally freaking out in the sense that he couldn't believe it wasn't taken.

"comparethegoods"

I bought it and I really didn't think twice about it, but does that seem crazy unique or anything?

I thought it was fairly normal myself, but I have had a number of people contacting me trying to purchase it.......(am I getting a false sense of confidence)

The calls to purchase and people my friend has introduced me to are just blowing it up like I won the lottery or something.

I kinda felt that the website makes the domain. Without it the domain is nothing.........right?

BTW Im a noob to web & design so don't hurt me too bad...
    Last edited by Chuck Hamrick; August 19th, 2013 at 10:40 AM.

It's not bad. IMO I would sell it if the offer was right.

In the UK we have an insurance provider who advertises on TV and they are comparethemarket.com which is very similar.

The offers are garbage right now. Between $1k and $4k which doesn't interest me. I haven't made any money off of my affiliate account yet, but I have had 45k+ visitors this month and 3600 clicks. Hopefully it amounts to something. Who knows?

Either way, we'll see. I was more interested in seeing if that was some crazy domain or something. Guess not

OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Means nothing in the US until you develop it into a site. If you are getting 45k monthly visitors and making no money then sell it and buy another domain.

So as a college student you can pass up $4k? What school are you attending, what's your major and who's paying your tuition?

Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Hamrick View Post