Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    What should I do about this affiliate?
    Hey all,

I'm fairly new to ABW as a poster, but I've been on here as a lurker for some time now.

I have an affiliate on my in-house affiliate program (It's for travel, mostly airline bookings). This affiliate has a network of affiliates (roughly 10-15 affiliates) who promote exclusively through email marketing. Before we started with him he had claimed that he and his affiliates could drive a very good amount of tracks and conversions. He has said the affiliates are partnered with large hotel chains across America and they share the same email lists, in the hundreds of thousands of subs.

From the day we started with him he has indeed driven a great amount of clicks and conversions. In roughly a week he was driving more clicks and conversions through our in-house program than both of our third party networks combined (CJ and LS).

We have done our research to find out that all the bookings he has sent us are completely legitimate, but he seems to be the last click in on some sequences that email marketing generally wouldn't be thought of in.

EX.)
    Kayak click 4:44 AM
    Kayak click 10:41 PM
    Questionable affiliate click leading to conversion 10:42 PM

There have been no noticeable dips elsewhere, but we are still skeptical is the traffic and conversions are quite high. Any thoughts, comments, or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar
    I wonder if PPV is involved. We don't allow that on Affiliate Window.
    Jeannine Crooks - Always happy to share what I know! - Voted Best Network Rep 2013 & 2014
    Email | LinkedIn | Twitter | Affiliate Window
    US Programs | Canada Programs | UK Programs | Ireland Programs | Mainland Europe Programs

Good suggestion - Do you know of anyway to catch whether or not that type of advertising is being done? We definitely wouldn't allow that either, it's like legal spyware.