Critics Needed
    Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to the affiliate marketing scene, but spent a few years working online doing freelance content writing and marketing mostly focused on video games.

I would like create a site that focuses on video game sales. While posting about the video game sales, I would like to include affiliate links to the products and sites hosting the sales.

I'm looking for any type of criticism or advice for this idea, but specifically I'd like to know:

Is it a bad idea to avoid an affiliate marketplace and create accounts with each major retailer (Target, Best Buy, Gamestop)?

Are video games worth being an affiliate for (money-wise)?

Does this site design sound beneficial (SEO, conversion, financial)?

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Since video games are a $1B industry seems like a good target to go after. Do the merchants you list have direct programs or are they only on a network(s). You need to do the research which starts with creating an affiliate site so you can apply to the networks to see what is available.

Outsourced Program Manager Rick - Bitcom's Avatar
    I think the first question to ask yourself is "Do you really think you can help people solve a problem." Sounds to me like your background could be very helpful. You might already be an expert in the niche.

The next step is to brand yourself as an authority by creating great, helpful content. That should eventually attract search engines and traffic. You might also have to "meet people where they are now" in Social Media and niche forums and send them to your site.

Then it's a matter of moving people down the Sales Cycle to the great solutions that you've found for them.

Of course, the devil is in the details but that's the big picture. Think problems and solutions and you might just have a business.