Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador Airstrip's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    665
    I am relatively new to this blocking parasite stuff, but I read about this "afsrc=1" as one way that might help. Do I put this at the very end of a link or where? And what does this represent and accomplish.

    Thanks
    Airstrip Maller
    The best things in life are not things at all...

  2. #2
    pph Expert! Gordon's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    Posts
    5,781
    you would put that at the end of the links but do not forget to put the "&" in front like &afsrc=1
    One day parasites and their ilk will be made illegal, I bet a few Lawyers will be pissed off when the day comes.
    Mr. Spitzer is fetching it nearer

    YouTrek

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador Airstrip's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    665
    Thanks...

    I am learning..

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Gordon:
    you would put that at the end of the links but do not forget to put the "&" in front like &afsrc=1 <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    The best things in life are not things at all...

  4. #4
    Newbie leafgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 16th, 2007
    Posts
    17
    Arrow
    Would &afsrc=1 interfere with CJ's subID reporting? For example, let's say I'm using this encrypted CJ link http://www.************/xyz123whatev...ple?sid=abcdef

    And I append it as such: http://www.************/xyz123whatev...abcdef&afsrc=1

    Would &afsrc=1 still work? (I will test to see if the sid abcdef is still reported properly.)

    Oh and of course, since it's been a while since anyone has written about &afsrc=1, does anyone believe it's still at least partially effective in preventing parasiteware effectiveness?

    TIA aff gurus!!!

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador DesignerWiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    2,777
    It is only effective if the parasites are actually playing fairly ... but for the ones that do honor the URL append it does work as intended. Be sure to check each and every tracking agents link policy to ensure that this URL append does not skew their tracking ability.
    Ray Thomas
    Webmaster Resources: http://DesignerWiz.com
    ABW Board Category: Programming / Coding
    http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=190

  6. #6
    Full Member RickPlmr's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 6th, 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    489
    And always click through the link once you have it published to your web page - not all of the links work with this added parameter. For example, I think one of my BowFlex links didn't work with it, and resulted in a "page not found" error.

  7. #7
    Member phantomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    111
    If afsrc=1 is actually of any value, why would the cjs of the world not automatically add it to their links?
    Terrie
    Moonbeam Mega Mall

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    27
    It's useless on network-generated links. It's only needed when you redirect through your own link first, so the networks can't help you there.

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador Georgie Peri's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    846
    This is a old thread --

    But im wondering .. I'm using a redirector .. is this

    "&afsrc=1" still of value to adding in?


    Also what parasite does this act against? anyone got a idea!?


    Thanks

  10. #10
    ABW Ambassador Bob Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2nd, 2007
    Posts
    1,090
    Magi,
    I have never used it and by the looks of the videos in the LS thread the toolbars aren't standing down on that either.
    Where's the Great Life of Affiliate Marketing Hiding?

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador Georgie Peri's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    846
    Do you recall the other toolbar(s) this was suppose to block?


    **update
    found a good read
    http://www.jangro.com/a/2005/07/28/a...ns-unofficial/

    The afsrc is for ebates and some other sites ..

    Gonna get this put in since i use redirects
    Last edited by Georgie Peri; December 27th, 2008 at 09:21 PM. Reason: Found a good link with details

  12. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. afsrc=1...... Now?
    By Airstrip in forum Blocking Tips/Advice/scripts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 1st, 2005, 01:09 PM
  2. $afsrc=1
    By Steveinid in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 1st, 2003, 11:37 AM
  3. &afsrc=1
    By Dirk Gardner in forum Blocking Tips/Advice/scripts
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: August 20th, 2003, 10:43 PM
  4. Using afsrc=1
    By josephmonuit in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: March 18th, 2003, 10:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •