Writing unique content
    Hi everyone. I'd like to know what exactly is the process of writing unique content. For example, if someone wanted to make a website on a topic, would they research the Internet, where, they find other sites on the topic, and then write that information in their own words? Is this acceptable, and would this be unique content?
    If someone makes a site on something they're passionate and knowledgeable about, then it shouldn't be a problem, but what if someone picks a niche where they're keen, but have superficial knowledge? Is looking at other sites for information the way to get unique content, or are there other ways, like going to a library, etc. Going to a library 100 times to research 100 keywords seems over the top, doesn't it? (can you tell by now I'm a rather thick newbie lol. Besides, the library banned me after my 86th visit ;-))
    Any thoughts, tips and advice will be appreciated.

Thank you

Outsourced Program Manager e-Gazer's Avatar
    As long as it's written in your own words, it's considered unique content. You can do research online or off - it's up to you - though I can all but guarantee most internet marketers do their research online and don't go to the library. Where you research really depends on what the site is about of course - depending on whether you're writing something you have personal experience with or not.

But unique means just that - unique, or one of a kind. If someone were to copy and paste your content into google and find it elsewhere written exactly the same way, in the same words, using same phrasing and grammar then it's not unique. Pretty straight forward.

However if you're writing for example about how to change oil on your car, chances are similar content is available on myriad sites. So your content might be similar, but again, as long as it's written uniquely, it's considered to be yours and not duplicate or scraped content which is the main thing.