New to industry, have some questions
    Hi,
    I'm new to the affiliate marketing industry and have some questions.

First I'll explain why I was attracted to the industry. After three years of owning a small vending machine business, I am really enjoying the rewards of utilizing machines and automated services to generate income.

My first thoughts about internet based marketing came a week ago when I was paying my internet service bill and I asked myself, "Why don't I find a way for my internet connection to pay for itself?". After a little searching online I read about affiliate marketing and thought it sounded like something I would enjoy and might have the potential to pay for my monthly internet connection fee.

My question for you experienced marketers is, my first goal is to generate enough revenue to pay my monthly internet bill of $50; what do you think would be a reasonable estimate of how long it would take a beginner to develop a page with enough traffic to generate $50 per month in revenue?

Also, can anyone recommend any good books or other sources of information on getting started? Preferrably books that are not written to the get-rich-quick crowd. I want to study it as a real business; not something that will give me money for nothing.

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar
    Welcome to ABW. Glad you're starting here, as there's lots of great info, not the get-rich-quick junk that's out there.

How long it takes to reach $50/month depends on a huge number of factors, not the least of which is you. It will depend on what vertical you choose to promote, how you will attract traffic, how much energy you put into it to help it grow. There's no single template or timeline. First step is to spend a lot of time on this site, reading a lot of threads, asking questions after that. You'll learn a lot that way and have the foundation for real business for sure.