Filling out CJ and ShareaSale Tax Forms
    Hi,

I just signed up for CJ and ShareaSale and have a couple of questions on filling out the tax form. I'm a non-US resident, and also non-US citizen so I'm filling out the W-8BEN.

1. In CJ there's a tick box for "Exempt from back-up withholding". I've been looking on the web for an hour now and all I've found are people guessing, some say tick, some say no. Does anyone know if this we should check this option or not?

2. in ShareaSale's form, there's a part after Printed Name that says "Title". What should you place here? Is is like Mr., or just leave that blank?

Thanks. Really appreciate the help.

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar
    Most folks in the US are afraid to give you specific answers about stuff like this, as our country is crazy about law-suits, but I'm sure there's an accountant or lawyer on here somewhere who can jump in.

Based on the info you've provided about the SAS form, "title" in that location most likely means your title within your company, like "President", "owner", etc.
    Jeannine Crooks - Always happy to share what I know! - Voted Best Network Rep 2013 & 2014
    Email | LinkedIn | Twitter | Affiliate Window
    US Programs | Canada Programs | UK Programs | Ireland Programs | Mainland Europe Programs

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    Jeannine is correct about title, it refers to your position with the business.

I cannot say for sure about non-US citizens or residents, but for US based individuals doing business as an unincorporated entity that does not file separately, this is the general rule: You are automatically exempt from back-up withholding, unless you have failed to file all necessary forms and returns and/or have failed to pay PIT and/or employee withholding taxes in the past and the IRS has notified you that you are no longer exempt from backup withholding.