What affiliate type is this?
    I've been reading posts, thanks to all the posters.

A question to clarify where my intentions might fit. Lets say I've been a writer, and a copy writer. And I've bought domains and made websites.

I want to create a website for people with orange hair. I create the site, add content, and begin to link to sites that might have products or services for people with orange hair.

Maybe I would be casting too wide a net, or working backwards, but that's what I'd like to do.

Would the links I create, if they led to purchases on the linked sites, be classified as "affiliate" linking? I think what I confused about is, if a merchant link must be provided to keep track of prospective buyers sent to the merchant, tally a fee, etc., then I would end up with too many merchant links because of the variety of offerings. I understand I would be looking for an affiliate network that most closely reflected the needs of the orange haired, but what if one doesn't exist? There was this I ran onto: "Not all networks carry the same merchants. You can have as many merchants from as many networks as you like on one website" Where might I look to find out more about this?

O.k. I'm looking around and getting a better idea on the last question. Still, any comments appreciated.

What type, if any, of affiliate effort would what I've described be called?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Bulgakov
    Last edited by Bulgakov; October 10th, 2014 at 01:50 AM. Reason: Got Smarter, again

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar
    Lots of questions in here, but I'll try to help you with as many as I can.

The links you use must be affiliate links, obtained either through a network or a merchant's in-house program, in order to be paid for any sales occurring. (I'm assuming you don't have a direct relationship with the merchant which in not an affiliate relationship.)