Red face Newb question re: Wordpress and hosting
    Hello! I am a newb trying to get a site up and running. I am curious as to what Wordpress is all about. Is it a hosting site? Do I need a separate hosting site and use WP as a development/traffic tool? How do I connect to WP? I am more interested in creating a website than a daily blog. Do you use WP for that? Do I need to know HTML?

I realize these questions seem basic and probably make no sense to seasoned professionals. Any answers can help me navigate through this learning curve. TIA!!!

Affiliate Network Rep JCrooks - AffiliateWindow's Avatar
    Hey, Maxoman, we were all there at one time!

Wordpress is a platform for websites. You would buy a URL (don't do the free one through Wordpress.com), and then you can either download a free template (there are a bunch on Wordpress.org) or buy some of the others available. Several have been discussed on ABW in the past, and I'm sure some of our members have their favorites too.

Pick the template that best reflects your vision and functionality for the site. Consider making a plan for your site in advance, mapping out all of the pages you want, or at least all the categories of pages you have in mind. The template should enable you to adjust the color palette, upload pictures, and do lots of other things to make it your own, but it is much easier to start with something close to what you had in mind.

You will also need to arrange your own hosting. There are many great companies for that as well. Alot of them have a C-panel which enables you to install and/or update Wordpress with one click (I've used that in the past and loved it!).
    Jeannine Crooks - Always happy to share what I know! - Voted Best Network Rep 2013 & 2014
    Email | LinkedIn | Twitter | Affiliate Window
    US Programs | Canada Programs | UK Programs | Ireland Programs | Mainland Europe Programs

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar