Blog or not?
    Hello

I'm a total noob - been doing lots of reading and I'm now researching niche ideas to promote something.

From the reading I've done, the general advice seems to be "create a blog on something that interests you or you're passionate about". Then the advice is basically to write good content, build traffic and hopefully make sales.

My question is this....

Does it HAVE to be a blog? Does it have to be a site I'm regularly adding content to? Is it reasonable to just create some kind of decent product page or one-off review page for something that isn't hugely competitive but for which there are some products out there? Then concentrate on tweaking it/using social media etc to get it up the rankings?

I have interests, but they are in areas that are either completely saturated (music/movies) or that have no products other than books to promote.

I know this first stage is a difficult one, but I'm determined to break through it. I'm just a bit stuck right now!

Any advice appreciated.
    Last edited by murph; December 13th, 2014 at 05:24 PM.

Sounds like you've done some good research already to get you to this point.

New "original" content is always important to build a following.. have them coming back, reason for them to follow you on social media. Static or even "tweaked" sites won't rank high, or build loyalty. A blog, therefore, should be an important PART of the site.. doesn't have to be the "home page"... but it should provide reason for someone to come back again and again.

The second part.. about the interest/passion area.. well, it has to be something you can continually add to. And remember what many profitable sites know... 'the riches are in the niches'.

I know a gal who has a great site.. and ranks number one for a very specific item/topic.. that draws folks in to some of her other interests and offerings. All part of the same site.