Things That Were Different This Holiday Season
    I've been surprised by how different this holiday shopping season has been. I've been doing this for about 10 years and this season has been one of the weirdest. Some observations...

1) Items that are always popular as Christmas presents never went out of stock! I've never seen this before and I'd love to know the cause. Either every retailer expected a huge holiday shopping season and ordered tons of merchandise or the consumer scaled back their spending this year. (or both) I suspect mostly the later based on my own experience. That means some retailers are going to be hurting around the new year. Regardless, there should be some big after Christmas sales.

2) Black Friday doesn't mean much anymore. Well, that was a surprise... Shopping didn't get going online until Cyber Monday...

3) Consumers were much more savvy with their shopping. Not a lot of impulse purchasing. It appeared very planned and calculated.

I for one, say good riddance to this holiday shopping season. I'm ready to move on as I feel that it was a bust. The financial headlines are filled with optimism right now (Down 18K, consumer confidence, low gas prices, etc). I'm fairly certain some retailers are going to report poor earnings, the inventory levels tell the true story...
    Last edited by isellstuff; December 23rd, 2014 at 10:45 AM.
    Merchants, any data you provide to Google Shopping should also be in your affiliate network datafeed. More data means more sales!

OPM and Moderator Chuck Hamrick's Avatar
    Great insight, thanks!

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    I pretty much agree with all of that, except for product inventories in some niches, especially sports team merchandise - that has sold well with items continually going out of stock.